Issue 5

Analysing and Interpreting Improvised Music

August 2014

ISSN 2191-253X

About ACT

The Research Institute for Music Theatre Studies in Thurnau (Forschungsinstitut für Musiktheater in Thurnau, fimt) is creating an electronic journal Act. Zeitschrift für Musik & Performance. It is an international and interdisciplinary publication intended to provide a platform for essays, reviews and columns at the intersection of the disciplines musicology, theatre studies, dance studies and media studies. Act places particular value on methodological plurality and on supporting young academics.

The object of our interest is the entire spectrum of music theatre, spefically in regard to performance contexts. Work positioned within individual disciplines as well as on their methodological boundaries is encouraged. Areas currently underrepresented in research are also to be illuminated.

The range of themes in Act embraces all cultural expressions in the field between music and performativity such as:

* opera, operetta, musical theatre

* dance theatre, spoken theatre

* music theatre of the 20th and 21st century

* performance art

* concert culture, performance culture

* visual arts

* phenomena of pop culture and everyday performance

* film, television, radio, internet and video games

Act will appear twice a year as an internet journal. As well as two to five essays and an editorial, each issue will contain a review section (in the form of review essays) and a section for columns and announcements.

As an open-access journal, Act is free of charge both for authors and readers. Contributions will be made available in online and print versions and archived on document servers.

All essays received will be submitted to a fully anonymous peer review process.

Heft 6

Sounds of the Future: Musical and Sonic Anticipation in American Culture

Dezember 2015

ISSN 2191-253X

Über ACT

Mit der elektronischen Zeitschrift Act. Zeitschrift für Musik & Performance ruft das Forschungsinstitut für Musiktheater in Thurnau (fimt) ein internationales und interdisziplinäres Publikationsorgan ins Leben, das eine Plattform für Aufsätze, Rezensionen und Kolumnen an den Schnittstellen der Disziplinen Musikwissenschaft, Theaterwissenschaft, Tanzwissenschaft und Medienwissenschaft bieten soll. Act legt besonderen Wert auf Methodenvielfalt und die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses.

Der Gegenstand unseres Interesses ist das Musiktheater in seiner ganzen Bandbreite, vor allem in Hinblick auf Aufführungskontexte. Es sollen Positionsbestimmungen im Rahmen der einzelnen Disziplinen und an ihren methodischen Grenzbereichen gefördert werden. Ebenfalls sollen bislang in der Forschung unterrepräsentierte Gegenstände beleuchtet werden.

Das Themenspektrum von Act umfasst dementsprechend alle kulturellen Äußerungen im Spannungsfeld von Musik und Performativität wie:

* Oper, Operette, Musical Theater

* Tanztheater, Sprechtheater

* Musiktheater des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts

* Performance-Kunst

* Konzertkultur, Aufführungskultur

* Bildende Kunst

* Phänomene der Pop-Kultur und Everyday-Performance

* Film, Fernsehen, Radio, Internet und Videospiele

Pro Ausgabe sind neben zwei bis fünf Beiträgen und einem Editorial ein Rezensionenteil (in Form so genannter Review Essays) und ein Teil für Kolumnen und Hinweise vorgesehen.

Act ist als Open Access-Zeitschrift sowohl für Autoren als auch für Leser kostenfrei. Die Beiträge werden als Internet- und Print-Version frei verfügbar bereitgestellt und auf Dokumentenservern archiviert.

Die eingegangenen Aufsätze werden einem voll anonymisierten Peer Review-Verfahren unterzogen.